Skip to content

Buyer's Toolkit

AI Coaching Platform Pricing Guide

What every major coaching platform actually costs, what's included, and what's hidden. A transparent breakdown for HR and L&D leaders building a coaching business case.

What are the pricing tiers for coaching platforms?

The coaching market has split into distinct pricing tiers. Understanding which tier matches your budget and goals is the first step toward the right investment.

Traditional Human

$200-500/hr

C-suite only

Enterprise Platforms

$200-5,000+/user/yr

BetterUp · CoachHub · Torch · Ezra · Hone

Risely

AI-Native Coaching

$10-80/user/mo

Risely $59·Rocky.ai $19.90·Valence·Cloverleaf

General-Purpose AI

$0-20/mo

ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini. Not coaching platforms.

The price gap is structural

Enterprise platforms charge $3,000-5,000/user/year because human coaching is expensive to deliver. AI-native platforms charge $59-80/user/month because the economics are fundamentally different. The gap is not a quality difference. It is a model difference.

Risely

Where Risely fits

$59

/user/month

83 skills tracked with 360 feedback. Daily nudges. MBTI and DISC assessments. Merlin coaches natively inside Slack and Teams. 14-day free trial, no credit card.

Managers, leads, and ICs

How much does each coaching platform cost?

Pricing as of March 2026. Where platforms do not publish pricing, we note industry estimates. “Not disclosed” means the vendor requires a sales conversation to quote.

PlatformPublished PricingPricing ModelFree TrialSelf-ServePrimary Coach
Risely$59/user/monthPer-user monthly. Team: $399/5. Enterprise: $700-1,000/yr.

14 days

AI (Merlin)
BetterUpNot disclosedEnterprise. Est. $3,000-5,000/user/year.Human (5,000+)
CoachHubNot disclosedEnterprise. 3,500+ coaches.Human + AI (AIMY)
ValenceNot disclosedEnterprise contracts.AI (Nadia)
HoneNot disclosedEnterprise contracts.Human + AI
TorchNot disclosedEnterprise. Est. $200+/user/year.Human (6,000+)
EzraNot disclosedEnterprise via LHH/Adecco.Human + AI (Cai)
Rocky.ai$19.90/seat/moPer seat. Volume discounts.

Free plan

AI (Rocky)
CloverleafNot disclosedPer-user, team-based.

Limited

AI nudges
Marlee (F4S)Free / $15.99/moFreemium. Growth at $15.99/user/mo billed annually, $19.99 monthly.

Free tier

AI (Coach Marlee)
ChatGPT$0-20/moIndividual subscription.

Free tier

General AI (not coaching)

Pricing last verified March 2026. Enterprise platforms do not publish pricing; figures are based on industry estimates. Contact vendors directly for current quotes.

What is the real cost per coaching conversation?

Per-user pricing only tells part of the story. What matters is how much each actual coaching interaction costs, because that determines whether employees use it daily or save it for special occasions.

Effective cost per coaching conversation

Lower is better. Based on published pricing and average usage patterns.

$0$50$100$150$200+Marlee~$4Rocky.ai~$4Risely~$13ChatGPT~$0*BetterUp$75-250+ per sessionTraditional$200-500 per hourOthersNot disclosed

* ChatGPT is not a coaching platform. No skill tracking, coaching methodology, or progress measurement.

Why cost per conversation matters

When coaching costs $200+ per session, managers use it sparingly. They schedule monthly sessions and save questions for those meetings. When coaching costs $13 per conversation and lives natively in Slack and Microsoft Teams, managers use it when the challenge is fresh: before a difficult conversation, after a team conflict, in the moment when coaching has the most impact. Frequency of coaching interactions is a better predictor of behavior change than the depth of any single session.

What You Get at Each Price Point

Price alone does not tell you what is included. Here is what each tier typically delivers and where the gaps are.

Enterprise Human Coaching

$200-5,000+/user/year
Credentialed human coachesIncluded
Scheduled sessions (bi-weekly/monthly)Included
HR analytics dashboardIncluded
Often missing
Daily coaching between sessionsNot included
Skill-level measurement with team feedbackNot included
Self-serve signup or quick pilot optionsNot included
Risely

AI-Native Coaching

$10-80/user/month
On-demand AI coaching (chat + voice)Included
Daily coaching interactionsIncluded
Same-day onboardingIncluded
Varies by platform
83-skill assessments with 360 feedbackRisely only
MBTI and DISC personality assessmentsRisely + Cloverleaf
Conversation memory across sessionsRisely + Marlee
Native coaching in Slack and TeamsRisely + Valence

Hidden Costs Most Vendors Will Not Tell You

The per-user price is the starting point, not the total cost. Ask about these before signing any coaching contract.

Implementation Fees

Enterprise platforms often charge 10-20% of year-one contract value for onboarding and configuration. A $200K contract might have a $20-40K implementation fee.

Minimum Seat Requirements

Some platforms require 100+ seat minimums. If you need coaching for 30 people, you pay for 70 unused licenses. Ask about minimums before the sales cycle.

Expiring Session Credits

Per-session platforms may expire unused credits within 30 days. If managers are too busy one month, those credits disappear. You paid for coaching that was never delivered.

Annual Price Escalation

Multi-year contracts may include 5-10% automatic increases. A $250K contract becomes $275K in year two and $300K in year three. Read the renewal terms.

Admin Overhead

Human coaching programs require staff to manage coach matching, scheduling, and no-shows. That internal time does not appear on the vendor invoice but adds real cost.

Scope Creep Charges

Adding users mid-contract, languages not in the agreement, or extra reporting may be billed as add-ons. Clarify what is and is not included in the base price.

8 questions to ask every vendor

1

What is the total 12-month cost including implementation?

2

Is there a minimum seat requirement?

3

Do unused sessions or credits expire?

4

What are the renewal terms and price escalation?

5

What internal resources does program management need?

6

Can we add or remove users mid-contract?

7

What is the cancellation policy if results fall short?

8

What data do you provide to prove coaching ROI?

What does coaching cost at your team size?

Three scenarios to help you estimate coaching investment. All figures are annual.

50-Person Team

Managers and team leads

Risely~$31K/yr
Rocky.ai~$12K/yr
BetterUp (est.)$150-250K/yr
Traditional$120-300K/yr

200-Person Organization

Managers, leads, and high-potential ICs

Risely (enterprise)~$100K/yr
Rocky.ai~$48K/yr
BetterUp (est.)$600K-1M/yr
Traditional$480K-1.2M/yr

500+ Enterprise

All managers and ICs

Risely (enterprise)$250-350K/yr
Rocky.ai~$119K/yr
BetterUp (est.)$1.5-2.5M/yr
Traditional$1.2-3M/yr

What is the cost of not coaching your managers?

The cost of underdeveloped managers shows up in turnover, in people who stay but are not engaged, in unnecessary work and stress, and in performance their teams never produce. In the US, Gallup’s 2019 analysis of replacement costs found that the cost of replacing an individual employee can range from one-half to two times the employee’s annual salary. A 2020 Gallup analysis found that employees who are not engaged cost their company the equivalent of 18% of their annual salary. For where each cost lands and a worksheet to size it for your own teams, see Risely’s guide to the cost of not training managers.

How do you choose the right coaching price point?

The right coaching investment depends on who you need to coach, what outcomes you need to measure, and how quickly you need to start.

1

Budget under $1,000 per user per year

AI-native platforms. Risely ($59/user/month, $708/year) includes 83-skill assessments, 360 feedback, daily nudges, MBTI/DISC, and native Slack/Teams coaching. Rocky.ai (free plan, $19.90 per seat) is lighter but cheaper. Enterprise human coaching is out of range at this budget.

2

Budget $1,000-5,000 per user per year

Both AI-native and enterprise options. Risely enterprise ($700-1,000/year) with custom frameworks and dedicated support. Torch ($200+/year) for human coaching with mentoring. CoachHub and Valence in this range. BetterUp at the upper end.

3

Budget $5,000+ per user per year

Full enterprise coaching. BetterUp (5,000+ coaches, Whole Person Model). CoachHub (3,500+ coaches, international coverage). Ezra (LHH/Adecco enterprise credibility). At this level, the question is which coach network and methodology best fits.

Need to start this week?

Only three platforms offer self-serve: Risely (14-day free trial, first conversation in 5 minutes), Rocky.ai (free plan), and Marlee (free plan). Every other platform requires a sales process. If speed matters, filter by self-serve first.

Ready to see what coaching costs at your scale?

Try Risely free for 14 days. No credit card, no sales call, no procurement cycle. Start your first coaching conversation with Merlin in under 5 minutes.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does AI coaching cost per employee?

AI coaching ranges from free (Marlee's basic tier, ChatGPT) to $59/user/month (Risely) to $3,000-5,000/user/year for enterprise platforms like BetterUp with human coaches. The biggest factor is whether you're buying human coaching augmented by AI, or AI-native coaching as the primary experience. AI-native platforms like Risely and Rocky.ai are 5-10x cheaper per user than human-led enterprise platforms.

Why don't most coaching platforms publish their pricing?

Enterprise coaching platforms (BetterUp, CoachHub, Valence, Torch, Ezra, Hone) use custom pricing tied to company size, contract length, and features included. This lets them price-discriminate based on budget, but it also makes comparison difficult for buyers. Platforms with self-serve models (Risely, Rocky.ai, Marlee) publish pricing because their economics work at transparent price points.

What hidden costs should I watch for in coaching contracts?

The most common hidden costs: implementation and onboarding fees (can add 10-20% to year-one cost), minimum seat requirements (forcing you to buy more licenses than you need), session credits that expire if unused within 30 days, overage charges for extra sessions, admin overhead for coach matching and scheduling, and annual price escalation clauses. Ask for total cost of ownership over 12 months, not just the per-user rate.

Is BetterUp worth $3,000-5,000 per user per year?

BetterUp delivers the largest credentialed coach network in the industry (5,000+ coaches across 80+ countries) and a research-validated Whole Person Model. For organizations with budget for enterprise-level investment who value human coaches as the core experience, BetterUp is the category leader. The question is whether your program needs human coaches for every participant, or whether AI-native coaching can deliver similar outcomes for the roles and competencies you're targeting. At 50 users, BetterUp runs $150,000-250,000/year. Risely's Team plan is $399/month for 5 users + $49/month per additional user.

What is the cheapest AI coaching platform?

Marlee (F4S) offers a free tier with limited features. Rocky.ai has a free plan, with paid plans from $9.99/month for individuals and $19.90 per seat for businesses. Risely starts at $59/user/month. ChatGPT costs $0-20/month but is not a coaching platform. The relevant comparison is not just price but what you get: Risely includes 83-skill assessments with 360 feedback, daily nudges, conversation memory, role-play simulation, MBTI and DISC personality assessments, and native Slack/Teams coaching at $59/user/month. Rocky.ai at $19.90 per seat offers lighter coaching without skill measurement or team feedback.

How do I calculate the ROI of a coaching program?

Start from your own records for the teams in scope: average salary, exits in the last 12 months, and the number of people your engagement survey classes as not engaged. Gallup's 2019 analysis of US replacement costs found that the cost of replacing an individual employee can range from one-half to two times the employee's annual salary, and a 2020 Gallup analysis found that employees who are not engaged cost their company the equivalent of 18% of their annual salary. Compare the one-year range those ratios give with the program's cost at the vendor's published list price, remembering that the range covers all turnover and not-engaged cost in those teams, not the share a program would remove. Risely's guide on the cost of not training managers has a worksheet for running these numbers.

What is the cost of not training managers?

In the US, Gallup's 2019 analysis of replacement costs found that the cost of replacing an individual employee can range from one-half to two times the employee's annual salary. A 2020 Gallup analysis found that employees who are not engaged cost their company the equivalent of 18% of their annual salary. The full breakdown, with a worksheet for your own numbers, is in Risely's guide on the cost of not training managers.

Should I buy coaching per-seat or per-session?

Per-seat pricing (Risely, Rocky.ai, Cloverleaf) gives unlimited access and encourages daily use. Per-session pricing (BetterUp individual sessions at $75-250 each, traditional coaching) creates a usage ceiling and penalizes frequent engagement. For programs where you want every participant coaching regularly, per-seat models deliver better economics and higher engagement. Per-session models make more sense when coaching is limited to a small group of senior leaders who need fewer, deeper sessions.

Can I start with a small pilot before committing to an annual contract?

Some platforms support pilots and some do not. Risely offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, plus team plans starting at $399/month for 5 users, so you can pilot with a small group the same day you decide to try it. Rocky.ai also offers a 14-day trial. Enterprise platforms like BetterUp, CoachHub, Valence, and Torch typically require sales cycles and annual commitments before you can start. Hone requires enterprise contracts. If running a quick pilot is important to your evaluation, filter for platforms with self-serve signup.

How much does traditional human coaching cost compared to AI coaching?

Traditional executive coaching runs $200-500 per hour, with most engagements structured as monthly sessions over 6-12 months. That works out to $2,400-6,000 per person per year for monthly sessions, or more for weekly sessions. Enterprise human coaching platforms (BetterUp, CoachHub, Torch, Ezra) run $200-5,000+ per user per year depending on session frequency. AI-native platforms like Risely ($59/user/month) and Rocky.ai ($19.90 per seat) deliver daily coaching at a fraction of that cost, making it possible to coach entire teams rather than just top executives.